December 10, 2022

Buzz News Nigeria

Informative, Entertaining & Educative

EKSU Alumni Seeks Member As Next Ekiti Governor

The National President, Ekiti State University Alumni Association, Dr. Adedotun Adetunberu, on Tuesday, said the next governor of Ekiti State must be a product of the 38-year-old institution.

Adetunberu, who said over 50 per cent of voters in Ekiti State were holders of EKSU certificates, said it was time for EKSU alumni to determine the fate of the state and indeed turn things around for the better for the institution.
He spoke at the first Annual Lecture and Award Ceremony organised by the Deji Oso-led state chapter of the Alumni Association, in Ado Ekiti.
He said, “The next governor of Ekiti State by 2022 must be an EKSU alumna or alumnus. Fifty per cent of the electorate in Ekiti are holders of our certificates. I don’t know why we should not determine the fate of the state with our strength. This is a challenge to all of us”.
Adetunberu, while making case for the institution, said, “We must impress it on the leaders to make the development of EKSU a top priority. Any leader not taking the issue seriously should not deserve our votes.”
Speaking on the lecture titled, ‘EKSU and the quest for true identity, issues and challenges’, a don at the institution, Prof. Azeez Olaniyan, said the frequency with which the name of the institution was being changed was unhealthy.
Olaniyan, said, “We have to discourage further name-change to prevent further loss of identity.” He advised politicians to either build or find other monuments to name after deserving individuals.
The chapter chairman of the association, Oso, in his remarks said, “We shall continue to give our members and loved ones the deserved excellent leadership through positive and productive performance that prioritizes good governance and the welfare of our members above ephemeral gains.” Some outstanding Nigerians were also honoured during the occasion.
sharing is Caring... Please Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *