December 9, 2022

Buzz News Nigeria

Informative, Entertaining & Educative

Lagos Assembly Invites Sanwoolu’s Nominees For Final Screening

The Lagos State House of Assembly has invited 11 nominees for the State Executive Council, Civil Service Commission and Lagos State House of Assembly Service Commission (LAHASCOM) for final screening on Thursday 16th January 2020.

Giving the report of the 8-man Adhoc Committee on Screening of Governor’s Nominees during plenary on Monday, the Chairman of the Committee, Hon. Rotimi Abiru said that all the nominees met the criteria of the Committee.

Abiru stated that all the nominees were screened by the Committee on Friday 13th December, 2019 and that they all answered the questions put to them and provided all the necessary documents.

While some members, including Hon. Tunde Braimoh, Hon. Rotimi Olowo and Hon. Gbolahan Yishawu wanted to know the specific performances of the nominees, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa said that there was no need to doubt the competence of the committee as he said that they had done it in the past.

“The nominees would still be invited by the House to defended their nominations and this would give us an opportunity to know their ability and capability,” Obasa said.

The report of the Committee was then adopted as the resolution of the House and motion for its adoption was moved by Hon. Abiodun Tobun and supported by Hon. Victor Akande.

It will be recalled that the three commissioner-nominees screened by the Committee on Friday 13th December, 2019 included Mr Ganiyu Ayuba, Mr Olugbenga Oyerinde and Bamigbose Martins.

The Assembly had on August 16th, 2019 rejected three of the cabinet nominees presented to it for approval by Sanwo-Olu, necessitating their replacement.

Those rejected by the house included Mr Ajayi Bembe, Mr George Obafemi and Prince Olanrewaju Sanusi.

The eight other nominees screened by the Committee included three for the state House of Assembly Service Commission and five for the state Civil Service Commission.

Those screened for the Assembly Service Commission included Hon. Akeem Bello, a former member of the 8th Assembly, Hon. Kabiru Lawal, a member of the House from 2007 – 2015 and Mr Richard Osungboye.

The nominees screened for the state Civil Service Commission were Mr Babatunde Seriki, a former member of the House, Hon. Avoseh Suuru, Mr Adesina Odeyemi, Mrs Olubunmi Fabanwo and Mr Kamalrudeen Olorunoje.

sharing is Caring... Please Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *