September 28, 2022

Buzz News Nigeria

Informative, Entertaining & Educative

Lagos Assembly Screens Sanwo-Olu’s Nominees

Lagos House of Assembly’s eight-man ad-hoc Committee on Screening on Friday,  screened three commissioner-nominees submitted by Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of the state.

The committee also screened eight others nominated for the House of Assembly Service Commission and Lagos State Civil Service Commission.
It will be recalled that on August 16, 2019, the Assembly rejected three of the cabinet nominees presented to it for approval by  Sanwo-Olu.
Those rejected by the House included, Mr Ajayi Bembe, Mr George Obafemi and Prince Olanrewaju Sanusi.
The Committee’s Chairman, Hon. Rotimi Abiru (Somolu II) said that a total of 11 nominees were submitted by the Governor to the assembly for screening and confirmation.
He said that the eight other nominees included three for the State House of Assembly Service Commission, while five nominees were for the state Civil Service Commission.
At the first session on Friday, the committee  screened the  three commissioner nominees, including Mr Ganiyu Ayuba, Mr Olugbenga Oyerinde and Bamigbose Martins.
At the second session, the committee screened nominees for the assembly service  commission, who included Hon. Akeem Bello, former member of the 8th Assembly, Hon. Kabiru Lawal,  a member of the Assembly from 2007 – 2015 and Mr Richard Osungboye.
The committee therefore asked Bello and Lawal to take a bow and leave because they were former members of the assembly while others were grilled with questions.
At the third session, the committee screened  nominees for the state civil service commission, they were Mr Babatunde Seriki, Hon. Avoseh Suuru, Mr Adesina Odeyemi, Mrs Olubunmi Fabanwo and Mr Kamalrudeen Olorunoje, who was also a member of the Assembly.
The committee then asked Suuru and Olorunoje to take a bow and leave because they were former members of the house in the sixth assembly.
Abiru told newsmen after the screening that after the evaluation, they would report to the assembly while their confirmation would be done during plenary session.
Other members of the screening committee were Hon. Victor Akande (Ojo I), Hon. Akeem Shokunle (Oshodi-Isolo I), Hon. Desmond Elliot (Surulere I).
Others were Hon. Bisi Yusuf (Alimosho I), Hon. Noheem Adams (Eti-Osa I) , Hon. Folajimi Lai-Mohammed (Ikeja I), Hon. Ajani Owolabi (Lagos Mainland I).
sharing is Caring... Please Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.